Concert ProgrammeReviewsArchiveArtists

Felix the Quartet, 'Intimate Voices'

Felix the Quartet, 'Intimate Voices'

We are delighted to welcome back this lively group which comprises four prominent members of the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra: violinists Vesa-Matti Leppänen and Rebecca Struthers, violist Andrew Thomson and cellist Rowan Prior.

The quartet’s Finnish and New Zealand heritage is reflected in its programme. Sibelius’ only string quartet, the beautiful work from which the programme takes its name, was written in 1909 and is considered his finest chamber music work. John Psathas’ A Cool Wind is a plea for a balm, a cool wind, to ease anguish and torment. Beethoven’s String Quartet Opus 59 No.1, one of three quartets dedicated to Count Razumovsky, is a work with sweeping formal lines and arresting melodies.

Past Concerts

Sunday 26 June 2011 - Ilott Theatre, Wellington Town Hall


Copyright © Wellington Chamber Music Society Inc. 2024

Log In