Concert ProgrammeReviewsArchiveArtists

String Sextet Spectacular

String Sextet Spectacular

This concert provides a programme of three of the many beautiful string sextets that are seldom heard in concert. Between Dvorak’s Sextet in A, a work with moments of poignant lyricism interspersed with dance-like energy, and Brahms’ romantic Sextet subtitled Agathe, we will hear a work by the remarkable Czech composer Erwin Schulhoff, whose early brilliance was cut short by his death in a Nazi concentration camp.

Members of the Aroha String Quartet join with two NZSO players, violist Lyndon Taylor and cellist Rowan Prior, to bring us this feast of glorious works. Acclaimed as demonstrating ‘accomplished brilliance, soulfulness and sublime intensity in perfect balance and tonal unity’ (Dominion Post), the Aroha String Quartet is firmly established as one of the finest ensembles at the forefront of New Zealand chamber music.

Past Concerts

Sunday 28 August 2011 - Ilott Theatre, Wellington Town Hall


Copyright © Wellington Chamber Music Society Inc. 2024

Log In