Concert ProgrammeReviewsArchiveArtists

Villani Piano Quartet

Villani Piano Quartet

This new ensemble is a collaboration of four experienced performers. Masters in Chamber Music Helen Bevin (viola) and Marko Pop Ristov (violin), who met playing as principals in the newly formed “Wairua Sinfonietta” have joined forces with established Auckland musicians Flavio Villani (piano) and Sarah Spence (cello) to create the Villani Piano Quartet.

Their aim is to perform those piano quartets which are all too rarely played.

This concert has the Phantasy Piano Quartet by British composer Frank Bridge and a quartet by Latvian composer Peteris Vasks, described as full of emotional tension and anguish.

NZ composer Alfred Hill’s Sacred Mountain is followed by Robert Schumann’s huge Piano Quartet in E flat major Op.47.

This concert is presented in association with Chamber Music NZ.

Past Concerts

Sunday 28 August 2016 - St Andrew's on The Terrace


Copyright © Wellington Chamber Music Society Inc. 2024

Log In