Concert ProgrammeReviewsArchiveArtists

Trio Élan (violin, saxophone and piano)

Trio Élan (violin, saxophone and piano)

Trio Élan is an electrifying new ensemble comprising three of New Zealand’s leading chamber musicians: violinist Donald Armstrong, saxophonist Simon Brew and pianist Sarah Watkins.

The programme showcases a novel combination of instruments. Colourful and jazzy music from France, New Zealand, Argentina and the United States will enthral audiences.

Since Adolf Sax invented the saxophone in the 1840s, composers have sought to combine its magical sound with that of many other instruments. Debussy and Ravel incorporated it in their impressionist music, influencing such contemporary composers as Algerian-born Marc Eychenne. The saxophone lies at the heart of newer styles such as jazz, dance, and pop music, and the violin and piano have easily slipped into these new styles.

Trio Élan’s unusual line-up creates evocative sounds, catchy contemporary rhythms and soaring melodies. Prepare to be enchanted and entertained by this exciting programme.

How to buy tickets:

Single tickets are $40, or $10 for those under 26. A school child attending with an adult who has purchased a full-price ticket is free.

Series tickets are $210 for all 7 concerts and $60 for those under 26. These can only be purchased directly from SundayConcerts.

Click to download the one-page Booking Form

You can buy single tickets (transaction fees may apply) by:

• booking online at: Eventfinda Bookings

• booking over the counter at ‘Visitor i-Sites’ in Wellington, Lower Hutt, Carterton, Masterton and Martinborough

• phoning Eventfinda: 0800BUYTIX or 0800 289 849 Note: Eventfinda will not accept postal bookings or payment by cheque. Tickets for all online and phone bookings will be emailed to you.

• at the venue: from 2.30pm on the day of the concert (cash only).

The CMNZ Regional Series is supported by The Deane Endowment Trust Artist Development Fund.

Past Concerts

Sunday 18 April 2021 - St. Andrews on The Terrace


Copyright © Wellington Chamber Music Society Inc. 2024

Log In